La nouveauté | New things

Lunch decorations at Fresh box

1. Language: I have probably learned equal amounts of English slang from the Irish and English as I have French! For example:

  • Jokes – ‘she is so jokes’ UK version of crack up
  • Your man – ‘your man was saying…’ Irish version of that guy, I think?
  • So – ‘It was a great night so’ Irish version of aye
  • Peng – ‘that shirt is so peng’ UK version of cool
My English friend Isaac with a very posh accent
My English friend Isaac with a very posh accent

2. Made in Chelsea: At first I thought it was terrible – so many silent, awkward moments – but suddenly I am addicted. Bloody English! Credit to Grace, Molly and Serena for getting me into this one

3. Speculoos: Ok so not exactly a new concept to me, I discovered this in Japan but it deserves a mention. Best. Thing. Ever. It is a caramel kind of biscuit flavoured spread. A spoon and a jar of this will brighten any day, no matter how bad!

4. Dogs: By this I mean how ridiculously small dogs can be to the point where their little tiny legs actually struggle to walk. More like rats than dogs if you ask me.

5. Food: Baked Camembert drizzled with honey and topped with baked apple. Camembert cheese naan bread. Foie gras. First proper French ratatouille. Chartreuse (a very strong digestive liqueur). Milka chocolate. Christmas-flavoured tea. Citrus tarts with raspberries. Fresh, fresh bread.

6. Economics: So I decided I had to take one challenging paper and considering I had never studied economics before I thought 4th year Development Economics was the one for me. I am pleasantly surprised at how interesting it is, despite being 4 hours long.

Coco Boheme hot chocolate and Christmas and Rouge flavoured tea
Coco Boheme hot chocolate and Christmas and Rouge flavoured tea

7. Paul: The best patisserie/boulangerie chain ever.

8. Humidity: Walking at a snail’s pace here and you still arrive at your destination ridiculously frazzled and sweaty!

9. My French bank account: Took a long time to set up but I officially have an overseas bank account with debit card included!

10. Last but not least…adjusting to the slow pace of French life means I have had to take a step back and actually enjoy each moment and experience rather than thinking and planning ahead.

The boys getting into it at IPN
The boys getting into it at IPN
Grace's first Guinness with a pizza in hand of course
Grace’s first Guinness with a pizza in hand of course
IPN cluuuub
IPN cluuuub
Nights out with the best crew!
Nights out with the best crew!
First rainy day means half price hot chocs and board games at Coco Boheme
First rainy day means half price hot chocs and board games at Coco Boheme
Drinks at a French Apartment
Drinks at a French Apartment
Free Mojito's on salsa night
Free Mojito’s on salsa night
Leave a Reply

