Arriver | Arrive

Flying from home to Auckland past Mt. Ruapehu
Flying from home to Auckland past Mt. Ruapehu

Two full days of travel to arrive in Aix-en-Provence spells jetlagged!

Cheeky snap of the girl sitting next to me on the plane. As soon as we took off she snapped down the window shade and literally slept the entire flight.
Cheeky snap of the girl sitting next to me on the plane. As soon as we took off she snapped down the window shade and literally slept the entire flight.

I arrived late on Friday night after a flight from South Korea. Korean Airlines organised transport to a transit hotel 25 minutes from the airport in a city called Songdo. Ever since Japan, there is something about Asian countries that I love – the people are so kind. I didn’t realise that in Korea they drive on the right hand side of the road and there is a lot more greenery that I expected (although it does look fairly manufactured). For the first time when we were driving over a bridge into Songdo I felt overwhelmingly excited. The sun was setting behind us and it was literally fire red. I must admit I did consider cancelling my flight to Paris and staying in South Korea!

IMG_0774
Crossing the bridge to Songdo looking back at the sunset.

The next morning it was back to the airport for a morning flight to Paris. Flying Air France was my first taste of all things French and it was quite interesting to be addressed in their language. The TGV was next, which is in the underground of the airport. Pulling out of the train station and looking back on Paris I spotted the Eiffel Tower in the distance, it definitely gave me butterflies – Paris, I would be back!

Three and a half hours later, I finally arrived at Aix-en-Provence. I was greeted by Helene, a girl I had sent a million questions to via email when I was back in New Zealand. It was so nice to put a familiar name to a face and she greeted me with a kiss on each cheek. Helene helped me find Les Gazelles (my housing) and basically organised my room, as the receptionist couldn’t speak English. This was my first wake-up call to the fact that I was maybe in a bit of trouble in the language department. I was so happy to finally unlock my room yet fairly nervous now.

My main worry

First glimpse of my room for the next semester! Pavilion 7, 1st floor, room 7117.
First glimpse of my room for the next semester! Pavilion 7, 1st floor, room 7117. 

 was about meeting people, it has been ages since I’ve actually had to make friends! I shouldn’t have worried though as my neighbour Grace opened her door upon hearing English voices.

To say I was relieved to have met someone was an understatement!

 

Leave a Reply

